Bike & Gear Reviews

Select bike and gear reviews that appear on the Adventure Cycling blog from Adventure Cyclist contributors.

March 26, 2018
Geared Up: Winter's Last Gasp
Geared Up: Winter's Last Gasp

By Nick Legan and Alex Strickland  Winter is winding down, but whether you're still riding in the cold or looking for gear that transitions to spring, we've got you covered. 

March 13, 2018
Rapha's new Cargo Bib Shorts 
Rapha's New Cargo Bib Shorts 

By Nick Legan  The new Explore line of clothing aimed at adventure cyclists asks how much is the perfect piece worth?

March 8, 2018
Trek Enters the Gravel Fray
Trek Enters the Gravel Fray

By Nick Legan First Ride Impressions of the Trek Checkpoint

February 16, 2018
Road Test: Salsa Mukluk Carbon GX1
Road Test: Salsa Mukluk Carbon GX1

By Ally Mabry and Alex Strickland  Two staffers bought the exact same fat bike — after a winter of riding, what do they think?

February 16, 2018
Road Test: Ventana El Gordo
Road Test: Ventana El Gordo

By Brink Kuchenbrod  This Ventana El Gordo has the most conversation-inducing spec we’ve ever seen, the question is whether its strange looks translate into a special performer.

February 15, 2018
Geared Up: Spring is in Sight
Geared Up: Spring is in Sight

By Nick Legan and Alex Strickland Getting ready for cycling season.

February 14, 2018
Video Road Test: Fuji Touring Disc
Video Road Test: Fuji Touring Disc

By Patrick O'Grady  A disc-equipped take on an old classic — the Fuji Touring Disc looks to add a bit more complication to a simple formula.

February 9, 2018
2018 Cyclists' Travel Guide
2018 Cyclists' Travel Guide

By Nick Legan  Our annual dive into the tech that keeps our tours on the road. This year's edition features old school, newfangled, and more to get your next trip outfitted.

February 9, 2018
Road Test: Rocky Mountain Suzi Q
Road Test: Rocky Mountain Suzi Q

By Dan Meyer  A fat bike built with bikepackers — and summer cycling — in mind, the Suzi Q could be your all-season explorer.

January 31, 2018
2018 Fat Bike Buyers Guide
2018 Fat Bike Buyers Guide

By Nick Legan and Alex Strickland  Go big so you don't have to go home — our guide can get you out this winter.

January 22, 2018
Geared Up: Brrrrrace for the cold
Geared Up: Brrrrrace for the cold

By Nick Legan and Alex Strickland  Cold weather riding gear for pedaling in the dark winter months. 

December 4, 2017
Exploring Packing Possibilities
Exploring Packing Possibilities

By Nick Legan  Exploring packing possibilities on a hybrid panniers/bikepacking bag system on the Chicago – New York City Bicycle Route. 

November 20, 2017
Video Road Test: All-City Space Horse
Video Road Test: All-City Space Horse

By Patrick O'Grady  Our tester is a horse of a different color, so how does he feel about this bronc coming back around with new brakes?

November 14, 2017
Geared Up: Rogue Panda Extended Review
Geared Up: Rogue Panda Extended Review

By Cassie Nelson  Tackle the backroads with this trio of bags from Flagstaff, Arizona's Rogue Panda Designs.

November 14, 2017
Geared Up: Holiday Edition
Geared Up: Holiday Edition

By Nick Legan  We may have a full-blown Holiday Gear Guide (you should read it!), but that doesn't mean Geared Up goes on holiday. Here are a few of our late-season favorites.