Bike & Gear Reviews

Select bike and gear reviews that appear on the Adventure Cycling blog from Adventure Cyclist contributors.

October 17, 2017
Interbike: Rip van Schubert Goes Back to Las Vegas
Interbike: Rip van Schubert Goes Back to Las Vegas

By John Schubert  After seven years away, what's changed?

October 13, 2017
Road Test: Spot Rocker Singlespeed 27.5+
Road Test: Spot Rocker Singlespeed 27.5+

By Nick Legan  Looking for profoundly different cycling experience? Drop the gears for a while and take some rides on the “ultimate zen machine.”

October 3, 2017
Geared Up: Falling into Fall
Geared Up: Falling into Fall

By Nick Legan and Alex Strickland  The leaves are falling (and your mileage might be, too) but there's still riding to be done. Here are some late-season picks. 

September 26, 2017
Interbike 2017: What We Saw at the Show
Interbike 2017: What We Saw at the Show

By Nick Legan and Alex Strickland  Could Interbike’s last hurrah in Las Vegas deliver for the bike travel crowd? We scoured the aisles and demo to find the best gear for anyone looking for adventure on two wheels.

August 8, 2017
SaddleDrive 2017
Dispatch from SaddleDrive 2017

By Nick Legan  Adventure Cyclist's technical editor heads to Tahoe for QBP's annual dealer event to see what's next from the bike industry giant.

July 20, 2017
Geared Up: Kuat NV 2.0 Hitch Rack, Shimano Shoes, Paul Gino
Geared Up: Kuat NV 2.0 Hitch Rack, Shimano Shoes, Paul Gino

By Cassie Nelson, Dan Meyer, and Alex Strickland  Sometimes you've got to load up your bike — on a car. We look at the latest from Küat, plus shoes and a simple by slick light mount.

July 18, 2017
Video Review: Co-Motion Deschutes
Video Review: Co-Motion Deschutes

By Patrick O'Grady  Our intrepid road tester hops aboard the new wallet-friendly model from Oregon-based Co-Motion, the Deschutes. 

June 23, 2017
Road Test: Foundry Overland
Road Test: Foundry Overland

By Nick Legan  This titanium shapeshifter is at home on a light tour or running near the front of a local cyclocross race. 

June 23, 2017
Geared Up: Warm-Weather Essentials
Geared Up: Warm-Weather Essentials

By Nick Legan and Alex Strickland  Beat the heat with lightweight shelter, a touring-worthy cooler, the comfiest camp shoes ever, and a smooth ride.

May 1, 2017
Sea Otter by eBike
Sea Otter by eBike

By Nick Legan  Living with an eBike for a few days gives our Tech Editor a glimpse at their battery-powered potential.

April 25, 2017
Deep in the Heart of Texas
Deep in the Heart of Texas

By Nick Legan  Technical Editor Nick Legan headed for the Hill Country last month to ride the new bikes from REI’s Co-op Cycles and do a little bikepacking among the bluebonnets.

April 25, 2017
Geared Up: Spring has Sprung
Geared Up: Spring has Sprung

By Nick Legan, Josh Tack, and Dan Meyer  The weather is unsettled but the roads and trails are calling. Here’s a selection of spring riding gear to get your season off on the right (dry) foot.

March 23, 2017
Geared Up: Cyclists' Travel Guide Edition
Geared Up: Cyclists' Travel Guide Edition

By Nick Legan and Alex Strickland  Gear picks we couldn't cram into our biggest print issue of the year, these are some highlights for road and trail.

March 21, 2017
2017 Touring Bike Buyer's Guide
2017 Touring Bike Buyer's Guide

By Nick Legan  Whether you’re looking for your first touring bike or your next, our Buyer's Guide is back to guide you toward the right bike for your big adventure.

March 20, 2017
Road Test: Moots Mountaineer 27.5+ YBB
Road Test: Moots Mountaineer 27.5+ YBB

By Nick Legan  A classic touring nameplate is re-imagined as a dedicated bikepacking steed. But is the heritage (and titanium) worth the cost?